Who we are3 min read

The Church of Ireland

  • is a Christian church, part of the worldwide Anglican Communion which has over 70 million members in over 160 countries (see “A Beginners Guide to the Anglican Communion”)
  • is an apostolic church, maintaining an unbroken link with the early apostles and drawing on the apostolic faith in its teaching and worship
  • is a Catholic and Reformed church
  • is able to trace its roots to the earliest days of Irish Christianity
  • is a church with three orders of sacred ministry – Bishops, Priests and Deacons
  • has services which follow an accepted liturgical form and structure
  • has one prayer book – The Book of Common Prayer (2004)
  • keeps a balance in doctrine and worship between Word and Sacrament
  • has the Holy Communion or the Eucharist as its central act of worship
  • is one church embracing Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland
  • has c. 350,000 members – 275,000 in Northern Ireland and 75,000 in the Republic of Ireland
  • has two provinces, Armagh and Dublin, each with an Archbishop
  • has 12 dioceses, over 450 parochial units and over 500 stipendiary clergy
  • is a representative church, with each diocese electing those who will represent them at the General Synod, the ‘Parliament’ of the church
  • has in its General Synod a House of Bishops which has 12 members and a House of Representatives which has 216 clergy and 432 lay people
  • also has Diocesan Synods where representatives of the parishes meet usually once a year
  • has a parochial system where decisions at local level are made by Select Vestries whose lay members are elected each Easter by the people of the parish (Current Office Bearers and appointments)

More detailed information is available on the Church of Ireland website (from which the above information was copied) including the following:

St. Peter’s is within the Diocese of Armagh and serves the people to the north of the River Boyne in Drogheda and the surrounding area. The Rector is also Incumbent of Ardee Union of Parishes comprising St. Mary’s, Ardee and Collon Church, and Kilsaran Union of Parishes comprising the churches of St. Mary’s Kilsaran (Castlebellingham) and Dunleer.

Drogheda, Ardee and Collon Union, Kilsaran Union complies with its obligations under the “GDPR” by keeping personal data up to date; by storing and destroying it securely; by not collecting or retaining excessive amounts of data; by protecting personal data from loss, misuse, unauthorised access and disclosure and by ensuring that appropriate technical measures are in place to protect personal data. Click here for our Data Privacy Notice


The Revd Iain Jamieson    Tel: 041-9870073/083-8640133
The Rectory, Drogheda   

The Revd Canon Joyce Moore    Tel: 041-6851327/087-7468866
Dunleer, Co. Louth